Library Interventions. The Agents Respond: Lesley Guy

Library Interventions : Sharon Kivland

Lesley Guy

During our first tutorial you told me to find and read Mladen Dolar’s essay ‘I Will Be With You On Your Wedding Night’. It was perfect; it was just what I needed at that time and it took me where I needed to go. This was the first of a hundred acts of generosity that I always knew I would struggle to return.

Over the years you have given texts to me that have taken me by surprise or sent me in new directions and this has given me so much pleasure. Some of these still sit on my shelves: Les Liaisons Dangereuses, The Animal That Therefore I Am, The Freud Reader, The New Black, and more. One recommendation triggered an entire project and a trip to Lascaux, Bataille’s ‘Lascaux: Or The Birth Of Art’. And of course, there are your own writings, which I still receive in the post from time-to-time and treasure.

Please send me out to the library to find something for you. I want to find something that you might not have read, a gift that you are not expecting. Whatever I find may or may not represent new knowledge, it might miss the mark completely – either way it would be some token of recognition.

Don’t worry – my library research will have you and your work guiding it. The fact is, I do not know what it is I will be looking for but I will know it when I find it.

Leave a Reply

Books On Books

Curated by Robert Bolick

sebastiane hegarty

an audio visual notebook

Ensixteen Editions

Unlocking the cabinets

Drawing

~ notes from my studio ~ thoughts about drawing ~ books read ~ work seen ~ music heard ~ places explored ~ conversations with artists ~

Words and Pictures

By Lesley Guy

Boats for difficult times

our evolving relationship with boats

Painters on Paintings

A conversation between contemporary artists and their influences across time.

Urban travel tales

by Lisa Samloglou

The Typewriter Project

The Subconscious of the City

The Halt

Silt and shingle. Prose and poems by Brian Lewis

Grilled fish

Unlocking the cabinets

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

